Friday, September 6, 2013

Review | Carpe Corpus (The Morganville Vampires, Book 6) by Rachel Caine


In the small college town of Morganville, vampires and humans lived in (relative) peace-until all the rules got rewritten when the evil vampire Bishop arrived, looking for the lost book of vampire secrets. He's kept a death grip on the town ever since. Now an underground resistance is brewing, and in order to contain it, Bishop must go to even greater lengths. He vows to obliterate the town and all its inhabitants-the living and the undead. Claire Danvers and her friends are the only ones who stand in his way. But even if they defeat Bishop, will the vampires ever be content to go back to the old rules, after having such a taste of power?


The series just keeps going and going!  Loved and devoured this book!  Rachel Caine has this otherworldly talent when it comes to keeping a series alive without having a single book become a filler.  The worst to me is when you get into a book series and then find that a few of the books have no plot what so ever, they are just to fill a void and keep readers reading.  By then there are those that lose interest, the loss of fans and all because no one wants to read a series where there is no story, no climax in each book, no plot, the characters end up bland and boring during the filler books. 

Rachel Caine keeps the interest of readers by changing things up so far in each book there are questions that arise, twists that happen, and characters bond through it all.  The growth of the characters in each of the books in this series is amazing.  Little by little each and ever one has taken a turn for the better and worse.  I say worse because there has yet to be a main character that has not been hurt in some way shape or form.  There has not been a moment where one of the main characters has not had his or her big roll.  I have so far loved each and every one of the books in this series and this one has done it again.  Kept me turning the pages loving each step of the way taken on the journey and ride with The Morganville Vampires...

Previous Reviews 

About the Author
Rachel Caine is the #1 internationally bestselling author of more than thirty novels, including the bestselling Morganville Vampires series, the Weather Warden series, the Outcast Season series, and the new upcoming Revivalist series. She was born at White Sands Missile Range, which people who know her say explains a lot. She has been an accountant, a professional musician, and an insurance investigator, and until very recently continued to carry on a secret identity in the corporate world. She and her husband, fantasy artist R. Cat Conrad, live in Texas.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Recent Giveaways