Monday, June 3, 2013

Blog Tour / Aberrant by Ruth Silver

Title: Aberrant
By: Ruth Silver
Ebook Publication Date: April 17, 2013
Cover Designed by Lazy Day Publishing


In the future dystopian society of Cabal, the government instills equality for all and offers its citizens the perfect system. There is food, shelter and jobs for everyone. The one requirement is to follow the rules without question, including the government's match in marriage and "The Day of the Chosen", a lottery that randomly selects families to conceive children as natural means hasn't existed in generations. Following her eighteenth birthday, Olivia Parker accepts her requirement to marry her childhood best friend, Joshua Warren, and is eager to start her work assignment and new life when it all comes abruptly to an end as she's arrested and thrown in prison. The only crime committed, her existence. Olivia is unlike the rest of the world born not from "The Day of the Chosen." The truth haunts the government and puts her life in grave danger as one simple fact would destroy the perfect system. 

With Joshua's help, Olivia breaks free of prison and is forced on the run. Together they set out to find the promised rebel town in search of a new home and new life together. Their situation seems less than promising as they reach the town of Haven. New rules and customs must be adhered to in order to stay. Leaving would mean most certain death in the large expanse of the Gravelands. Time is running out as the government mounts an attack to destroy Olivia and bury her secret with her. Thrown into a world unlike their own, they must quickly adapt to survive.


Aberrant by Ruth Silver is an awesome read. It is very different from any of the other books I have read. It is very interesting and it had my attention from the very beginning all the way to the end. 

Cabal is a future dystopian society where the government instills equality for all the citizens and offers them a perfect system. Everyone there has a home to live in, food to eat and a job. Cabal’s government has one requirement from their citizens. They all have to follow the rules without questions including the government’s match in marriage and a lottery that is called “The Day of the Chosen.” The lottery randomly selects families to conceive children. 

Olivia Parker and Joshua Warren both live in Cabal with their parents and have been best friends since they were little. They know that when they turn eighteen that they will have to go through the match in marriage. That time has come for Olivia and Joshua. They are nervous about the government’s match in marriage because they don’t know who they will be matched up with. Will they get matched up with each other? Or will it be with someone else? After they turned eighteen, Olivia and Joshua accept the person that the government has matched them up with.

After the match in marriage ceremony, something happens to Olivia. She has been taken away. Why did they take her? Where did they take her? Olivia is confused and doesn’t understand what is going on. She soon finds out the reason why and she is very upset about it. Joshua and his mother come to her rescue and help her escape from wherever she was held at.

This is the beginning of Olivia Parker and Joshua Warren’s journey. It is not safe for her to be in Cabal anymore so she has to leave. She is surprised that Joshua is going with her. Where will they go? They will definitely go through a lot together. Will they be prepared for what is to come for them? Will they be able to survive? 

As I was reading, I felt like I was there on this journey with Olivia and Joshua. I can feel their emotions for each other and the fear of what they are going through.

Ruth Silver has done an amazing job writing Aberrant. I hope that there will be a sequel. I am looking forward to reading it and more of her books. I definitely recommend my friends to read this book. 

I give this awesome book 5 Dandy's!!


About the Author

Ruth Silver attended Northern Illinois University and graduated with a Bachelor's in Communication in the spring of 2005. While in college, she spent much of her free time writing with friends she met online and penning her first novel, Deuces are Wild, which she self-published in 2004. Her favorite class was Creative Writing senior year where she often handed in assignments longer than the professor required because she loved to write and always wanted to finish her stories. Her love of writing led her on an adventure in 2007 to Melbourne, Australia. Silver enjoys reading, photography, traveling and most of all writing. She loves dystopian and fantasy young adult stories. Her debut novel published by Lazy Day Publishing, Aberrant is scheduled for release April 2013. Ruth has been actively writing since she was a teenager.

Author Links:

Book Link:

Purchase Links:

Also, Giveaway on Goodreads through the 21st of June, (3 signed copies of Aberrant).
a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for hosting Aberrant during the blog tour and for your thoughtful review.


Recent Giveaways