Friday, May 31, 2013

Tour Stop | Severed Ties by Angie Skelhorn

 
Title: Severed Ties
Author: Angie Skelhorn
Genre: Paranormal/YA
Publisher: Damnation Books
Release Date: Dec 1 2012
Edition/Formats Available In: E~Book & Print

 
Synopsis

By the use of divination and magic, some ties can never be severed.

In the beginning, by the light of the Full Moon, Frankie connects with Candice's energy through dream time and witnesses her involvement in a terrifying act of violence. After receiving information from Sandra that their childhood friend is missing, they pack their bags and head to the inner city to find her.

Frankie, afraid for her own safety, has a chance encounter with a local named Calvin who is plugged into what's happening. Using his workable ideas—as well as Frankie and Sandra consulting tarot, ordinary playing cards, astrology, and spell-casting—they set forth to free Candice from the dangerous situation she is in.

Excerpt

Sandra sat on the edge of the bed, and then stood. She retrieved her tarot deck; Frankie, her playing cards. Each held their deck face down in one hand and covered with their other hand. The two paused to become calm and centered. While they shuffled their deck in unison they spoke, “Spirit Guide, reveal to me, am I carrying out the right action in finding Candice? Please reveal to me that which will be, one…two…three…”

Calvin relaxed on the couch. He watched them, listened as he attempted to take in what they were doing. Suddenly, the ceiling light blinked on, then off. He felt the room chill. He looked upward and could see an orb shine in a rich glow float through the window. He didn’t know what to think. He just stared at it, and said not a word. He observed the orb brilliant and illuminating quietly with slow glide of movements move through the room and then descend. He became alert to the sparkles of white and gold orb presence transform. He could barely make out the faint image of an older woman. Her aged hair in a tight bun dressed in a long billowing cotton coat float between Sandra and Frankie. He watched in disbelief as she transformed back into a barely there visible orb.

 


Review

Severed Ties has it all, magic, suspense, friendship and more.  I enjoyed the character interaction as well as the story as it played out nicely.  Real life circumstances with two teenage friends trying to save their friend from a nightmare she had gotten herself into. 

Not knowing if Sandra and Frankie would succeed in their journey to save their friend Candice kept me turning the pages.  Like many that take a turn for the worse, it's friends like Sandra and Frankie that make life worth while.  Through the deception of drugs and the influence of the wrong people Candice has put herself in a bind, one that she could not get out of by herself, even if she wanted to.  Relying on the high of drugs and a strip bar for money, it takes all that Sandra and Frankie have together putting things in motion. Relying on their Spirit Guides to pull Candice out and convince her to leave with them, come clean and start fresh.

There were some pretty intense moments that carried me through the story from beginning to end.  The way the girls bonded using their magic to spin a spell here and there made things more exciting.  I know things happen for a reason and just as Angie Skelhorn pointed out with the way things turned out in the end.  Will Sandra and Frankie get to Candice before it is too late?  Will Candice willingly walk away from what she has grown accustom to?  Life is always a journey, which direction will your life take you?

Author Information
My name is Angie Skelhorn and I live in Canada. My interest include tarot, and other forms of divination, astrology, spirituality, mythology and harness racing. I gear my writing toward Witchcraft and Spiritualism. I've been published in Circle Sanctuary Magazine and online at Witchvox, WitchesandPagans.com and GlobalGoddess.org.

I authored No Reins and Till Death and Beyond - Publisher, Club Lighthouse Publishing. My newest release is Severed Ties - Publisher, Damnation Books- book launch December 1, 2012.

Author Links

Book Trailer Link

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal / Born of Fire by Amy Erstad



Book Title: Born of Fire
Author: Amy Erstad 
Release Date: TBD

Book Blurb: 

Humans are losing their devotion to the Gods. After everything the humans put themselves and others though; faith is still not high on their priority list. Even the Gods would think such things as wars would lead the humans back to them, but it is only a temporary fix. Their devotion still waivers. Other than Ra, no one seems to notice, or they just don’t care. They keep telling him it will get better with time, only it doesn’t. Worse yet, they keep denying his request for an earthly presence. He is sick of watching and waiting, and sick of being denied. He is not going to just stand by and let them keep denying him, he has his own plans. Plans put in place centuries ago, secretly. Now they shall all see what happens when he is forsaken. 

While Ra is making plans of his own, Kenna, on the earthly realm, is figuring out that the people she loves and trusts are keeping secrets from her. She wants to know what those secrets are, and she knows they have something to do with her nightmares, but no one is giving up any information. She is not too worried though. She has Keyara, her best friend, right there beside her. Together they work to try to unravel the mystery that her life has become. Together they stand when Kenna’s life is turned upside down by some handsome stranger. One that is familiar, yet unknown to Kenna. Together they will continue to stand, when the secrets are revealed, and both girls find they have destinies they never would have dreamed of. 


Excerpt: Kenna and Keyara 

Kenna is sitting on her bed looking at me with a look of bewilderment on her face, and a little laugh in her voice. “Sounds like you were up to eaves-dropping again. How did the covert operation go? Learn anything new?” 

“No, no nothing new tonight,” I quickly spit out, not wanting her to know that her parents know where she got the necklace. While I still hate the lying, I know I just need a little bit more time, and a few more pieces to start putting everything together. 

Kenna gives me the eye, looking at me suspiciously. “Well you sure were gone long enough for no new information, and you were awful quick to spit that out.” 

“Yeah well, just because we have an undercover mission going doesn’t mean I don’t ever have to drain the lily pad once in a while.” Truthfully I hate keeping this secret from Kenna, but I don’t want to let on to the fact that I think they are keeping secrets, and that I think it is something big. I want to wait until I have something concrete to bring her, so I don’t worry her any more than she already is. As it is, my poor best friend has hardly had a good night’s sleep in months and the less stress she has on her, the better off she will be. Knowing there is a secret out there about her isn’t exactly going to help her, but it is better than knowing just how serious I believe it may be, without being able to produce any proof. 

Author Bio 

Amy has been married for 16 years and shares two beautiful daughters with her husband. After being a stay at home mother for many years, she went back to school and graduated with her Associates Degree in Business Administration in 2009. When she is not working, she loves being able to travel whenever she can and has had the opportunity to visit several different countries with her family, and has even been able to live in some of them.

While it was never her dream to become a writer, she now loves every minute of her time spent in the writing world, as it gives her the opportunity to live in a world made out of imagination and sometimes dreams. She loves reading paranormal and fantasy books.

Check out Krystal Clear Book Reviews and Purple Shadow Hunter Blog Pages for more excerpts from Born of Fire.

Release Day / The Edge of Darkness by Melissa Andrea


Blurb

The Edge of Darkness

After a tragic accident, Araya Noelle is left with a constant reminder that nothing is forever.

She is forced to give up her chance to be the youngest dancer accepted into Julliard & taking over their high society school by a graceful storm of determination is no longer an option. Instead of dwelling over her loss, she accepts the new future she’s been dealt. In a world as black as hers, there's no room for bitterness, no time for regret. Sheltered from the outside world, Araya has become suffocated by a life she has no control over. Until Ryland Dare comes crashing into her life.

You don’t know true darkness until you've felt light…

Like a firecracker, showering her with colorful sparks of freedom, Ryland quickly sweeps Araya away from her grey existence. For the first time since the accident, living in darkness is no longer something Araya wants to do willingly. Unleashed by the shadows of her reminder, being with Ryland, Araya touches light. Together they will learn what it’s like to feel alive for the first time.

At the edge of darkness, a ray of light, will dare them both to HOPE.

DARE them to LOVE

DARE them to LIVE


Author Bio:

I find it hard to sum up my

life in a paragraph, but I’ll try.

I am the author of Flutter, The Discover Series! Reading

has always been a passion for me, and writing as instinctive as breathing.

Every inhale is an idea; every exhale a creation. The only thing I do better than writing you ask? Making beautiful girls. My daughter’s will always be my greatest accomplishment.

I was born in Denver, Colorado–but I will always think of sunny Arizona

as my home. I don’t have a big family, but I’m close with my sister, brother

& my mom. My mom is my hero, my inspiration, and I couldn’t have asked for a

more amazing person to be raised by.

4 things you should know about me: I’m very girly, but I can get down and dirty

with the best of them. I adore the color pink and things that sparkle

(including vampires), I am a firm believer that chocolate cures ALL and I like

even numbers (hence 4 things about me, not 5) Okay, maybe I cheated a little

with my list, shhhh.

Author's Stalker Links:

Release Day Blitz | Breathe Me by Alexia Purdy

Title: Breathe Me
Author: Alexia Purdy
Genre: Contemporary Romance/New Adult
Publisher: Lyrical Lit. Press
Release Date: May 31


Synopsis

Sometimes the one who broke your heart, needs the most saving.

Piper Sandervale never thought she’d see Sasha Koval ever again. Not since he took her heart, ripped it out and obliterated it from existence. Now, six years have passed and she has run into him once more at the local fairgrounds in Las Vegas. He desperately wants another chance, and he’d do anything to get her back. She’s willing to give him a taste of his own medicine, if this is her chance for payback. But, will she find herself way in over her head?

Something has changed with Sasha and Piper struggles to justify the worth of past hurts to continue her quest for atonement.

Who needs saving now?


 
 
Excerpt

“I have tickets for a comedy show. How about it?” He reached out, gripping my hand again. Glancing down at his fingers as they laced through mine, a soft flutter in my chest made me forget to breathe momentarily. He still had it, his paralyzing charm, I mean.

“Um, yeah. Sounds great.” I forced a smile as I sucked in a breath. I hoped and prayed I wasn’t making a mistake. I had to remember to be the first to run this time.

Yep, I’ll reel him in and then run out the door so fast, he won’t even know what hit him.

So my plan to break his heart was in motion as he softly tugged at my hand, pulling me towards the front doors of the Bellagio. Making it to the sidewalk, he led me to the Taxi line and hailed one. I was curious where he was taking me to, but my mouth was dry as a desert, which tasted of lemon cherry sorbet. My self-doubt was already creeping into my mind before I’d even had a chance to douse it.

“You alright?”

His voice pulled me back to the present as we slipped into the back of the Taxi cab. He scooted in after me and instructed to the cabbie our destination. Hugging my arms in the cold of the AC blasting from the vents, Sasha slipped his arm around my shoulders and pulled me closer. Frozen, I wasn’t sure what to do. Relax, relax, I kept telling myself. The entire plan would be ruined if I didn’t loosen up. He might even see through my ruse if I wasn’t careful.

That wasn’t something I could afford to let happen.


About the Author
Alexia currently lives in Las Vegas, Nevada–Sin City! She loves to spend every free moment writing or playing with her four rambunctious kids. Writing has always been her dream and she has been writing ever since she can remember. She loves writing paranormal fantasy and poetry and devours books daily. Alexia also enjoys watching movies, dancing, singing loudly in the car and Italian food.





Author Links

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Book Release Blitz ~ The Crimson Key by Christy Sloat

 Title:  The Brown House
Series:  The Visitor’s Series Book # 1
By:  Christy Sloat
Published in: June 2012
Published by: Anchor Group Publishing
 
Blurb

Some secrets should never be revealed…

Brylee Branson begrudgingly made the excruciating move with her family from the warm sandy beaches of California to small town living in New Jersey. As if she wasn’t miserable enough, they’ve moved into a creepy old house that everyone in the area claims is haunted. Brylee dismisses the idea of ghosts and hauntings, until she begins to see and hear things that can’t be explained…

Brylee has no choice but to seek the help of new friends to unlock the secrets of this place she now calls home. But some secrets should never be revealed. Can the teens find a way to release the spirits imprisoned within the walls? Or will the curse claim them, too?


Title: The Crimson Key
Series: The Visitor’s Series Book # 2
By: Christy Sloat
Expected Publication: May 2013
Published By: Anchor Group Publishing

Blurb

The truth can be deadly.

Brylee Branson’s best friend and boyfriend have fallen victim to a horrible curse that haunts her home. With the witches who cast it dead she has no choice but to rely on the ghosts inside the Brown house to help her find a cure. But time is not on her side, because Lynley's illness is spreading rapidly.

Confused and scared, seventeen-year-old Brylee must confront a new ghost in the house she has never spoken to before. This spirit is not a Brown relative and makes no promises to help them … unless she can re-unite her with a loved one.

The fate of those she loves now rests on her. Can Brylee put the pieces of this puzzle together in time to save them? Or will the Brown house claim another victim?

The Visitor’s Series continues to scare and entice its readers with this gripping second book.



About the Author
Christy Sloat is a Southern California native who now lives in New Jersey with her husband and two daughters. She believes that reading is a passion and it should be embraced. She is literally obsessed with reading and tries to fit as many books in as possible. She has a very active imagination and she encourages her daughters to find theirs. Christy hopes to inspire them and others to use their creativity for the use of good. When she is not writing, reading or being Mommy, you might be able to find her at a bookstore scouring the shelves.

Look for her recent titles The Many Lives of Avery Snow, Ianni, The Unraveling of Avery Snow and The Brown House.

Birthday Bash / Few Are Angels by Inger Iversen



Title-Few Are Angels
Series-Few Are Angels # 1 
By- Inger Iversen


Blurb

After a fatal hit and run accident, Ella Monroe fears that she’s lost more than her beloved parents. Horrifying visions of a past life and a disturbing voice in her head have psychiatric professionals convinced that she’s lost her sanity as well. But when Kale--a dark and handsome stranger with a mysterious past--reveals the true meaning of her visions and the tremendous power she wields through them, Ella must come to terms with the devastating truths of her own past, while eluding an ancient Dark Prince who seeks to control not only her future, but all of mankind’s, by means of abilities that Ella is only beginning to understand.

Enter the shrouded world of an age old battle between an ancient race known as the Immortals and their bitter enemy Laurent, the so-called Dark Prince, who commands an army of half-breed vampires known as Chorý. Both sides have been desperately searching for the prophesied emergence of the Arc, a clairvoyant with unparalleled power to recall the past and a soothsayer with clear vision into the future. 

The Council of Immortals has sworn to protect the Arc, whom they have identified as young Ella Monroe, a college freshman from Virginia living quietly and unaware of her powers or her past. But a renegade Chorý has other plans for the protection of a girl he has loved through the ages. Can Kale convince Ella of who she is, what she is destined to become, and what he once meant to her? Is he truly the best protector to shield the world from the devastating misuse of her powers that Laurent is bent on controlling? Or will the forbidden love they share and Kale’s cursed condition as a wretched and hated Chorý be used against them both?

This paranormal romance told from the heroine’s perspective builds in intensity and intrigue to a finale you won’t see coming. Heart pounding action mixed with heartwarming friendships and heartbreaking romance will leave you breathless and begging for more.

Main Characters 5 Favorite Songs, 5 things they can’t live without, anything else of that nature that you can think of :)


Kale:
Dream Cast for Kale: Jesse Metcalfe 


Kales top 5 songs:

Breaking Benjamin: Dance with the Devil
Seether and Amy Lee: Broken
Scala and Kolanchy Brothers: Nothing Else Matters
Chevelle: The Red


Link to Playlist Spotify Kale


Kale’s Favoite book: Of Mice and Men


The one thing Kale can’t leave the house without:

The necklace he gave Helene before she died.


Kale’s Top 5 Movies:




Ella:
Dream Cast for Ella: Emmy Rossum


Ella’s top 5 songs 
Sea of Bees: Skinnybone
Ellie Goulding: Figure 8
Jenny O.: Home
Marina and the Diamonds: Starring Role
Florence + the Machine: What The Water Gave Me

Link to Playlist Spotify Ella

Ella’s favorite book: Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

Ella’s favorite movie: The Taming of the Shrew

Ella’s favorite TV show: Miami Vice and Duke of Hazzard

The one thing that Ella never leaves the house without: Elastic hair bands, tangle free ones, of course.


Ella’s Celebrity Crush:



Ella’s Top 3 movies:


Mia

Dream Cast for Mia: Elle Fanning

Mia’s top 5 playlist:

Alt-J: Breezeblocks
30 Seconds to Mars: Up in the Air
Zedd: Spectrum
Sade: Is it a Crime
Correatown: All the World

Mia’s Playlist Link Spotify Mia Top 5


Mia’s celebrity crush: Chris Hemsworth 



Mia’s Top 3 movies


Alex:

Dreamcast for Alex:

Alex’s Top 5 Playlist
Imagine Dragons: Radioactive
Soundgarden: Live to Rise
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis: Thrift Shop 
Lupe Fiasco: Battlescars
M83: Midnight City


Spotify playlist linkSpotify Top 5



Alex’s Celebrity Crush: Emma Watson


Alex’s favorite Book: Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Alex’s favorite TV show: Miami Vice and Duke of Hazzard



About the Author

Inger Iversen lives in Virginia Beach with her tree-hugging boyfriend Joshua and her overweight lap cat Max. When not reading or writing she spends her time watching reruns of True Blood or killing zombies in Call Of Duty.


Author Links

Book Link:

Purchase Links:


Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Blog Tour / Triad Awakening by Michael Grigsby



Title: Triad Awakening
Author: Michael Grigsby
Genre: Horror
Release Date: March 5, 2013
Tour Organizer: B3 Tours

Synopsis: 

Sixteen-year-old Hagan Curtis's life is a total mess-alcoholic single father, recently deceased brother (Robin), and social invisibility-until an eerie encounter with a trio of ghostly sisters reveals he is part of the Triad. Armed with newfound battle skills and wielding his amazing split-staff, Hagan plunges headlong into training. But soon he discovers that membership in the Triad can be lethal as Spectrals, Necropeds, and Feeders from other realms show just how bloodthirsty they can be. As his team plummets deeper into their first mission, Hagan learns that his brother’s death resulted from Robin’s knowledge of the Triad, and those closest to him are keeping dark secrets. Will Hagan survive the terrifying mission to finally untangle the mystery of Robin’s death?
Triad ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Awakening is​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ the first book in the Triad Trilogy. The Young Adult Horror/Fantasy is Michael Grigsby's debut novel.

Excerpt -The Friendship/Romantic Interests of the Triad 

An hour and a half later, our trio is sitting on the Knoll, eating lunch. The Knoll is a small hill above the football field. We’ve eaten there every sunny day since our freshman year. Although many students eat outside, the Knoll is basically our territory. I am absently shoving grapes in my mouth. Naomi has her head leaned back on Charles’s lap as he munches on a peanut butter sandwich. I’m not surprised by our eating arrangement. It’s pretty typical. 

Charles is flirtatious by nature. He can effortlessly wink, touch, and giggle in a way that girls really respond to, including Naomi. The two always seem to be finding an excuse to touch one another; be it a playful punch or a piggyback ride across the parking lot after a game. I glance over to see Charles lightly playing with Omi’s hair. For some reason, this totally irritates me. Maybe it’s my lack of sleep. Or maybe it’s something else. Something I’m not ready to think about yet. I’m rescued from my musings by the top of a dandelion hitting my forehead with a ‘plop’. 

“Wake up, sunshine,” Charles snips. “What’s with you today?’ 

“Nothing. Just thinking that it will be summer in just nine weeks.” 

Naomi rises up from Charles’s lap and props herself up on one elbow. I don’t mind admitting I’m more than a little relieved that she’s ended their hair-stroking session. 

“Now there’s a great thought,” she says cheerfully. “What are we gonna do this summer, guys?” 

“Dunno,” I respond. “Maybe we could get jobs somewhere. I heard the movie theater hires high school kids. That could be fun.” 

Charles pipes in. “Hmm…free popcorn and ticket tearing. I think I could get on board with a summer of that. Of course, you know my days are spent at the mercy of Coach Riley.” 

“No amount of summer practice could help your team,” teases Naomi, playfully pushing Charles’s broad shoulder. “What a bunch of losers!” 

Again, they’re touching. Why is this bothering me so much today? I’m really pissed about it. To snap myself out of my mood, I join Omi and punch Charles’s other shoulder. 

“Really!” I joke. Charles retaliates by reaching over and twisting my right nipple. I let out a little yelp and flick him on the crown of his head. 

“And as for you…” he says looking at Naomi mischievously, “SANDWICH BOMB!” He tosses the remains of his peanut butter sandwich, striking her on the leg. It falls to the grass, leaving a tiny peanut butter streak on Naomi’s jeans. She gasps in faked indignation and rises to her feet. Naomi turns and snatches up her belongings in an overdramatic fashion and stomps down the Knoll. She whips her head around and raises her left eyebrow. 

“I’ll leave you boys to stew in your own testosterone! I’m headed to fourth.” And with that, she’s gone. As she walks away, I watch her ponytail, swaying from side to side, catching glints of sunlight in its loose curls. I can’t help but notice that the sway of her hips matches that of her hair, forming a perfect rhythm. Ashamed, I turn away, just in time to see that Charles is watching her, too. I swear to God, his pupils are swinging side to side with Omi’s steps. He glances my way and his eyes meet mine. He quickly diverts them to the grass beneath us. 

“So,” he stammers awkwardly, “working at the movies this summer? Sounds like a good plan.” 

Character's Bio:

Charles Denton is Mr. Charisma. Born to an upper-class family, he’s never wanted for anything in his life. As a young child, Charles realized that he was charming, manipulating his baby sitter into letting him stay up late and eat ice cream. In Middle School, he filled out way before his peers, making this 6’2”, blonde, tanned, muscular guy the object of many schoolgirl crushes.

Despite having his pick of any girl in the school, Denton just can’t seem to date exclusively. “Keep all options open” is his relationship motto. Besides, he is extremely busy with sports, especially football and track. Any free time left is devoted to his pals, Hagan and Naomi. No one at Fenton High gets this trio, but it makes perfect sense to Charles. Lucky for him, he’s so well like no one gives him much grief about his odd choice of friends.

Charles has always lived a charmed life, until a series of horrifying dreams leads him to the conclusion that he is a part of the Triad. As he and the rest of the Triad begin their training, Charles slowly begins to realize that his happy-go-lucky, All-American Boy life is over. In it’s place are blood thirsty Feeders and flesh-hungry Necropeds, all determined to destroy any human they can get their claws into. And the Triad’s expected to stop them. Charles won’t be able to charm his way out of this one! 

Hagan Curtis lives a fairly normal life with his blue-collar father and athletic older brother, Robin. One dark night, Robin goes missing. Hagan discovers his body the next morning. Robin’s death drives his dad over the edge. He’s now cold, distant, and would rather spend his time drinking whiskey instead of taking any interest in Hagan’s life.

Hagan just tries to deal with losing Robin and get through each day. The only bright spot are his two best friends-sassy, outspoken Naomi and popular, charismatic Charles. They don’t seem like likely companions for the shy, sensitive kid, but somehow, the three sixteen-year-olds click.

Hagan’s life takes a bizarre twist when he begins being terrorized by three unearthly spirits, hell-bent on giving him the message that he is part of the Triad. Can this skinny, quiet kid really be part of a team called to defend the Earth from dark forces? He seems like an unlikely hero. But aren’t unlikely heroes what legends are made of? 

Naomi Norris has never been one to hold her tongue. This opinionated, feisty girl has always said exactly what’s on her mind. Naomi learned to be boldly independent from an early age. Could it be due to the fact that a single mother that would rather chase men than be a parent raised her?

Growing up, Naomi read anything she could get her hands on. (Despite her tough exterior, she secretly dreams of become a writer) The rest of her childhood was spent becoming the best goalie that has ever played on the Fenton Junior Soccer League. This was most definitely a good outlet for some of her natural aggression!

Now sixteen, the auburn-haired beauty spends most of her time with her two best friends-Hagan and Charles. Could a love-triangle be developing? Could the trio become the topic of hot gossip at Fenton High School? Does Naomi really care? Probably not.


Author Bio: 

Seems I've always loved to read. Growing up in rural Kentucky, the highlight of my summers was when the bookmobile delivered new books to my house each week. During the school year, I spent hours at the public library devouring horror and suspense novels.
As an adult, I've taught Language Arts for fifteen years. Reading and writing with my students has inspired me to finally write my own books. I love opening the door to a world I create and seeing what a spine-tingling events unfold!
In my spare time I enjoy spending time with my wife and three children. I also read (of course) and watch horror movies. My obsession with all things scary led me to write the Triad Trilogy. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I have writing them for you!

Author Interview Questions:

1. Are you a morning or night person?
I’m absolutely a night person. I get really productive around ten o’clock and go until one or two every night. I’d say I wrote ninety percent of Triad Awakening after midnight!

2. What is the best thing you have done in your life?
I married my college sweetheart, Jennifer. She and I were waaay too young, had absolutely no money, and most people gave us about a year. We’ve been married nineteen years now and have three awesome kids (four, counting our dog, Homer). I can’t imagine my life without her.

3. What are your pet peeves or interesting things about you that you dislike?
There are two. First, I HATE ketchup. I’m not sure why. I hate the smell, taste, and sight of ketchup. It is number one on my “Most Hated Condiment” list. The other thing that drives me nuts is when someone is chewing gum and starts to eat. They take the gum and stick it to their plate. Then afterwards, rechew it. Totally disgusting and irksome!!!

4. What's your favorite material object that you already own? My wife and I took care of her granny after she had a stroke. We got very close to her. When Granny died, she left us this beautiful antique writing desk. When I sit at it, or even just walk past it, I feel close to her. I think if my house were on fire, Jen and I would strap that think to our backs and pack it out!

5. What would you do if you were the last person on this earth?
I know this sounds shallow, there’s a theme park in my area called King’s Island. Every time I go, I have to wait for hours to ride my favorite coasters. If I were the last person on Earth, I’d head to King’s Island and have my run of the place. I’m not exactly sure who’d run the rides for me, but this is my fantasy, right?

6. What's your favorite thing to do in the Summer? Fall? Winter? and Spring?
Our family has a little house in Melbourne, Florida. It’s about a mile from the beach and a bunch of funky little pubs and shops. We go every Summer. It’s a family tradition. In the Fall, I am the director of Phobia, a haunted house fundraiser. The school I work for owns an old factory. A bunch of us set up a big haunted attraction. It’s awesome! Winter is my main reading season. I love to settle in my recliner and catch up on books I missed in the previous year. This winter, I got through several series. It was great! In the Spring, I love doing yard work and getting my pool open. I live on five acres so there’s always something to plant or mow!

7. If you were to write a book about yourself, what would you name it?
Welcome to the Freak Show!

8. What's the one thing, you can't live without?
My MacBook Pro laptop. Sad, isn’t it?

9. What's your motto in life?
“You get what you give.” I firmly believe that whatever we put out into the world comes back to us. I know that sounds simple, but it is so true.

10. If you could date any celebrity, who would it be and why?
Like I said earlier, I’m happily married, but if I had this option, I’d go with Sarah Michelle Gellar. She seems like a cool chick and totally kicks tail as Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I like a girl that’s a little feisty!

Author Links:

Book Link:

Purchase Link:

Promo Tour / Witchling by Ari Harper



Title: Witchling
Author: Ari Harper
Series: Curse of Kin
Genre: Young Adult Paranormal
Publisher: Lycaon Press
Release Date: November 30 2012

Blurb/Synopsis 

Nera is a normal teenage girl living in Ireland, or so she thought until she discovers the family secret.. Now her world is forever changed. 

Descended from a long line of witches, she discovers is the one who has to stop the curse that has taken the life of every girl before her. 

And if that isn't enough, she must learn to use magic from the man called Bones. He is the son of Mari, Queen of the Witches...and a god. It is Bones who has been entrusted to teach her the skills she needs to stay alive, which wouldn't be so bad if he didn't have an uncanny knack for pushing her buttons. 

Can Nera succeed and resist the charms of the man who gets under her skin at every opportunity?

Excerpt 

"Witches did and still do exist. You know that wherever there is good there must also be evil to balance it out." He paused, took a deep breath, then continued. "That can take many forms, witches only being one of them. Not all witches are evil obviously, but Edrith O'Reilly was very evil. When Pria planned to elope with Edrith's youngest son, she placed a curse on them. She cursed me, and she cursed her own son. I know this is a lot to take in, Nera, but what I have told you is true. That is exactly what happened." 

"Come on, Jasper. You really don't expect me, us, to believe this, do you?" It couldn't be true, yet parts of his story were settling into my heart and mind already, as if the words had been waiting to find a resting place within me. 

"Yes, girl dear, I do," Jasper replied, gazing at me. "How did your daughter die, Jasper?" Sully asked, obviously remembering the other dream that I had constantly. 

"Edrith slit her throat with a sword, Sully." 

I felt the bile rise in my own throat and pressed my hand to my mouth in an effort to stop it. Breathe, I told myself, just breathe. I squeezed my eyes tight and fought for control. I could feel a hand on my knee, and when I looked up, Jasper was kneeling on the floor in front of me, his gaze full of pain. 

"Was that the other dream you were having?" His beautiful blue eyes were shadowed and troubled. 

I nodded my head. The words stuck in my mind, the bile forcing its way up my throat. I pushed past him and ran for the downstairs bathroom in the hallway. I leaned over and retched into the bowl. I gripped onto the sides to stop myself from collapsing to the floor. My knees had gone weak, and cold sweat was running down my face. I couldn't control the shaking and was past caring. Neither my body nor my mind could accept what I had heard. It wasn't possible. How could it be that Jasper is 800 years old and I am reliving his daughter's death on a nightly basis? No, it is not possible. 

There was a light tap on the door, and Brie tiptoed in with a damp cloth in her hands. Her mouth was set into a grim line. She watched me as I struggled to stand and then handed me the cloth. I leaned against the basin, unsteady on my feet. I wiped my face and hands and looked up at her, my gaze searching her face for any trace of sympathy. 

"I'm really going crazy, aren't I?" I hung my head, suddenly not wanting to see the pity in her eyes. 

"I don't think you are," she replied, her voice gentle. She ran her hand down my arm before I pulled away. "I think what Jasper is saying is true. Why don't you come back into the library and we can discuss it more." 

"You're kidding, right," I scoffed at her, ignoring the shocked look on her face. "You don't seriously believe this stuff. Does he look that old to you?" I leaned on the basin until the ground stopped moving under my feet. 

"No, he doesn't." Brie brushed her hair back from her face and then licked her lips at the reflection in the mirror over my shoulder. "But he said that was part of the curse, Nera. Just listen to him before you decide you're crazy and he is lying." 

"Whatever." I threw the cloth into the sink and pushed past her out of the bathroom. 

Jasper and Sully looked up when I stalked back into the room. Brie followed me and hurried to sit with Sully on the couch. I opted to stand beside the fireplace, my arms folded. 

"I don't believe you," I said, knowing that with the hitch in my voice I didn't sound convincing. I was acting like a petulant bitch, but I couldn't help it. The way the day was shaping up called for my worst side to come out and play and I really didn't care. 

"Before you make up your mind, there's more, Nera." He pursed his lips, then continued. "When there is a curse, there is always a way out of that curse. Each third generation since that time has had one female child that has the ability to break the spell. Not all have had the faith in themselves or believed in me enough to do so. Maybe their connection wasn't close enough," he shrugged. "I don't really know. But you are third generation. You are stronger than any other female that has come forward. Because of who you are, Nera, you are the one." 

Jasper watched me closely while I tried to process the information that he had given me. I nibbled on my bottom lip and pulled at my hair. "What are you trying to tell me?" I asked him. 

"When you were born, I knew who you were." A small smile hovered on his lips. "You were born with a caul, a part of the birthing membrane, on your head, and that makes you a Caulbearer, girl dear. In the world of magic, this marks the child as unique and powerful, usually with psychic gifts, like second sight and the ability to soul journey. But we can talk about that later." 

"Does that mean Nera is a witch?" Brie asked, her eyes wide as she looked at me, her face lighting up. 

"I guess that depends on your definition of a witch," Jasper replied. "I believe there are people in this world who have special abilities. Some call themselves witches, some don't. It's just the way you perceive something, I suppose." 

"So what does she have to do with the whole curse thing, then?" Sully asked. 

Jasper's gazed met mine before he answered. "She is the one that can stop the curse and let me die." 

"Are you crazy, Jasper? How can you even think I would let you die?" I jumped to my feet, the horror of what he was saying slamming into me. I paused for a breath, the fear gripping my chest like a vice which made such a simple task difficult. It was too much for me. I turned and fled to the kitchen and threw open the door to the garden. I gulped down a breath of cool air and lurched over to a grassy patch and sank to the ground. Hugo walked over to me and licked my hand before sitting down in front of me, his soulful brown gaze on my face. 

"Oh, Hugo, what is going on?" I cried, pushing my face into his fur. Cradling his head in my arms for comfort, I leaned against his huge body. I felt movement, and Brie and Sully sat down beside me. They reached out and wrapped their arms around me. Most of what Jasper had told us was hard to believe, but what if it was true? Parts of my brain screamed at me that it was possible, but parts still balked at the idea of witches, gods, and demons—especially so close to someone I loved. 

"Do you believe what Jasper said?" Sully leaned forward. He picked a blade of grass and ran it through his fingers before looking at me again."Do you think it could be possible?" 

"I really don't know." I sighed, rubbing the back of my hand over my face. "It seems so farfetched." 

"But it could be true." Brie leaned her chin on my shoulder. "What if you really are what he says you are? I've always said there was something special about you. Everyone thinks so, not just Sully and me." 

"Yeah, Connor thinks I'm special, so special he wants to grope me every time he sees me," I scoffed. 

"Stop being so pigheaded. You know you have something that no one else has. Do you really think we would hang out with you if you were normal?" Brie joked. Her smile faded quickly when I looked at her, and she pulled away from me. 

"I know you are trying to make me feel better, and I do appreciate it, I really do. But if this is even halfway true… It's so much to take in." Just pull yourself together, girl. This is getting you nowhere, tears over, deal with it.

Author Bio 

Ari Harper never wanted to grow up. 

To offset the limitations of growing old ungracefully, she created her own set of unique worlds where she can be and do whatever she wants. God, demons and witches surround Ari while she spins her magic, mainly doing what they tell her to do. 

She likes to work amongst chaos when given a choice, which is good because she is generally surrounded by children, all clamoring for attention. Some of them end up in her stories, some of them even get to die grisly deaths or be cast away to another realm. 

Her favorite pet is a big black Labrador, Hugo. He stars as himself in the Curse of Kin series as Nera's faithful hound.

Author's Media Links:

Book Link:

Purchase Links:

Promo / Marked by Jennifer James



I have a bad habit of creating series. I love to read them, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I keep writing them. *grin* Last week I released my very first Indie title, a short story set in a universe called HOWL. This universe will be in the spirit of Felicity Heaton’s Vampire Realms, with lots of different characters, book lengths, and storylines. I hope you’ll enjoy my take on werewolf soul mates in this first installment, MARKED.

Blurb 

Five years ago she ran. . . 

Kayla is back where she belongs: in Jack’s arms. But after the initial explosion of pent up longing and need have passed, she has to convince him to complete the bond between them. 

Ingrained fears sent her running, but the need for her mate and the love she’s denied has brought her back. To be Marked will join their souls together forever, a bond Kayla can no longer live without. 

An Alpha wolf, Jack waited for Kayla to return to him and protected her from afar. When he senses her outside his home, he isn’t beyond setting a trap meant to entice her back. 

Once he has her, he has to show her it isn’t just her heart he needs. 

He needs her trust and with it, her submission. 

Author Bio: 

Jennifer James lives in a fantasy land where it’s always 75 degrees and sunny, a river made of non-fat chocolate runs past her house, and dogs don’t poop. (She hates cleaning up dog pooh.) A mutli-published author of erotica and erotic romance, she loves to write stories with heat, heart, and happily ever afters.

Find me on the web!

Buy Links:

To celebrate the release of MARKED, I’m running a Rafflecopter through May 31. In it, there’s a chance to win a gorgeous book thong I created! I also two some Jennifer James swag packs up for grabs. But don’t worry, if the Rafflecopter doesn’t smile on you, I’m hosting a Facebook Event May 31. There will be ebooks, awesome swag, and lots of games. 


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Recent Giveaways

ShareThis