Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Tour Stop ~ The Bloody Sinful Original Legacy by J.L. McCoy


The Bloody Sinful Original Legacy Tour
Dates: April 15 - April 30
The Books:
Blood of the Son, Sins of the Father, The Original Sin, and Legacy of Blood
Skye Morrison Vampire Series Book #1 - 4
Author: J.L. McCoy
Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance 

Blood of the Sun (Book 1)
Synopsis

After a shocking admission by Archer Rhys, Skye Morrison and the rest of The Mausoleum's vampire crew have to deal with the aftermath of Houston business owner and fellow vampire Greyson Mead's murder. A gruesome discovery in Skye's driveway forces her out of her house and temporarily into Archer's lakeside mansion with her co-workers Trey, Hunter, Quinn, Seamus, Lochlan, Jameson, and of course the ever jealous Aoife. Skye must now live under the same roof with the two men she wants most and things are bound to get complicated. With a psychotic murderer on the loose hell bent on killing vampires and the appointed army of The Faithful having no luck in finding them, will Skye's new boss and co-workers live to see next week? Will Skye make it out of Archer's mansion alive?

*Be advised: This book contains adult situations, steamy sex scenes, and cursing.*

**Excerpt**
“With all those late hours, doesn’t Mrs. Rhys miss you?” I asked.

He raised an eyebrow. “No,” he said with a slight smirk. “There is no Mrs. Rhys.” 


“Oh, sorry” I replied, a little embarrassed. “I just figured a guy like you would have been snatched up long ago by some gorgeous girl.”


He smiled and chuckled a little. “You’d think so, huh? I haven’t had much luck in that department...at least long term.”

“Sorry if I seemed nosy,” I said, looking down at my clasped hands. I felt like I had pried.

“Not at all, Skye. These are things you’ll need to know if you work for me,” he said soothingly. “Let me ask you a few general questions. Would that be alright?”

“Yes, please. Fire away,” I said, eager to change the subject.

“What do you like to do for fun?” he asked.

I looked up at him and wondered if I should give him the safe answer or the true answer. I decided to throw caution to the wind and let him see the real me. “Well, um, I enjoy painting. Abstract mostly...on big canvases. There’s almost nothing better than channeling your love, fear, pain, bad day, good day down into something and seeing the beauty of those emotions emerge. It helps me realize that no matter how bad my day was, or how hurt I felt...there’s always beauty in everything; that every emotion I feel is important and helps make me who I am. I love it. It’s freedom incarnate.” I smiled and remembered the last painting I did. It was after Jesse and I broke up. I put all the anger, tears, frustration, and ugliness down on the canvas. It turned into one of the most beautiful pieces I’ve ever done.

“I love to read,” I said, clearing my throat and continuing. “I’ve always preferred that over watching television. There’s not much imagination to television in my opinion. Also, dancing has always been in my blood. I love dancing whether it’s out at a dance hall or around my house. If hear music, my body just kind of responds to it. I like to catch Karaoke Night at the Blue Lagoon Lounge whenever I can. Their Cult Movie Show Tunes night is to die for. Don’t laugh. I know it’s cheesy, but I love it. And, I have to say, one of my absolute favorite things to do is go to my weekly Krav Maga class that I take with my best friend, Nikki,” I said, hoping that that wasn’t too long winded of an answer.

“Impressive, Miss Morrison,” he said with a cock of his head and appraising eyes. “I like a strong woman.”

I blushed and looked down at my hands. Small butterflies fluttered around in my stomach and I adjusted my body uncomfortably in the seat. I was embarrassed but a little excited at the look in his eye as he watched me talking. What is that...the way he’s looking at me? He likes a strong woman...what does that mean? Is he coming on to me? I laughed inwardly at the absurdity of my thoughts. Yeah right, Skye. He’s WAY out of your league, girlfriend. But, nice try. I looked up, into his eyes, and gave him a small smile and a shrug. “Me too. I grew up on Red Sonja comics. I wanted to be just like her when I was a kid.”

His eyes sparkled with his laughter and the butterflies in my stomach picked up again. Dammit, stop that! I silently told myself. Out of your league! And, he just might be your boss someday. Chill, hormones...

“What kinds of books do you like to read?” he asked.

I was surprised by the question. I guess when he said general, he really meant general. “I mainly read paranormal fiction, though I do enjoy the occasional historical drama or biography.”

“I’ve read up on preternatural things myself,” he said with a knowing smile. “What are your favorite subjects?”

“Well, I suppose it would be vampires, werewolves, fae, and similar mythological creatures,” I said, hoping that’s what he meant.

He laughed and nodded his head. “I’m glad you enjoy those. I do, too,” he said.

I started wondering how these questions pertained to the job I was interviewing for. But, I shouldn’t complain, I guess. These questions were very easy to answer and it seemed like he was genuinely interested in hearing my answers.

“Do you have any first-aid knowledge?” he inquired next.

“Hm...well, yes. I took a first-aid course in summer camp when I was 15. I still remember the basics,” I said, a little confused as to where this was going.

“Good,” he said, and then looked thoughtful. “Would you know how to...let’s say for example...dress wounds and control bleeding?”

What the hell kind of interview question was that?! I thought to myself. I’d expect that if I was applying at a hospital or something, but... “Yes,” I said slowly, confused as to why I would ever need to know something like that working in a nightclub.

“Excellent,” he said smiling. “You never know when something like that will come in handy.”



Sins of the Father (Book 2)
Synopsis 

After a shocking admission by Archer Rhys, Skye Morrison and the rest of The Mausoleum's vampire crew have to deal with the aftermath of Houston business owner and fellow vampire Greyson Mead's murder. A gruesome discovery in Skye's driveway forces her out of her North Central Austin, Texas townhome and temporarily into Archer's lakeside mansion with her co-workers Trey, Hunter, Quinn, Seamus, Lochlan, Jameson, and of course the ever jealous Aoife. Skye must now live under the same roof with the two men she wants most and things are bound to get complicated. With a psychotic murder on the loose hell bent on killing vampires and the appointed army of The Faithful having no luck in finding them, will Skye's new boss and co-workers live to see next week? Will Skye make it out of Archer's mansion alive?
**Excerpt**
“Did you need something?” I asked.

Archer leaned forward in his chair and took off his expensive charcoal gray sports coat. “I wanted to see how you were handling all of this,”he said, throwing the coat onto the couch and moving to take off his cufflinks. I watched him struggle for a second before I intervened.

“Here, let me help you.” I said as I got up from the chair and walked around his desk. He smiled tiredly, sighed, and thanked me. I hopped up onto the desk, sat in the same place Aoife had only moments ago occupied and pulled his hand onto my lap. I slowly took off his left cufflink and sat it down on the dark desk beside me. I looked into his ice blue eyes as I rolled the shirtsleeve up his muscular forearm. “Honestly, Archer, I don’t know how I am handling this.”

He stared intensely into my eyes and searched them for clues. “Are you scared?” I nodded my head and gave him his arm back. I picked up his right one and began the same process again. “You know I’ll never let anything happen to you, don’t you?”

I watched my hands work as I thought about that for a few seconds.

“I know,” I said finally, looking back up into his beautiful eyes. Neither of us said anything for a long moment. “I’m worried about you...about all of you,” I admitted reluctantly, my fingers finishing their work.

Archer took one of my hands in his and leaned closer. “We’re going to be just fine,” he said, tucking a stray hair behind my left ear and then lifting my chin. “We’re a lot stronger than we look, Skye.”

I had a sudden flash of Greyson’s mutilated body and I swallowed hard, shaking my head. My eyes glistened with unshed tears. “But Greyson...,”

Archer shushed me with a gentle finger to my full lips. “Don’t,” he whispered, looking deeply into my eyes. “Don’t think about that.” He cupped my cheek and tenderly ran his thumb over my mouth, tracing my bottom lip.

“I’m sorry for how I acted earlier tonight,” he apologized gently, his eyes remorseful.

“I know,” I whispered. I tilted my head into his cool hand and closed my eyes. His touch was so comforting, his strong arms safe. I felt my body slowly start to relax for the first time tonight.

“I want you to stay with me tonight, Skye.” My eyes flew open in alarm and I sat up straight. “Us,” Archer amended quickly. “I meant I want you to stay with us...at my house.”



The Original Sin (Book 3)
Synopsis

"Skye Morrison's life lately has been anything but ordinary. Attempting to pull together the pieces of her life that have been ripped to shreds after being kidnapped and tortured by Amun- who happens to be the father of all vampires-her dreams are haunted by memories of those recent fateful and horrific events. Skye struggles with her split feelings and the raw sexual tension with her lover, Jameson Doyle and boss Archer Rhys-the continuous object of her sexual fantasies. Residing at Archer's lakeside mansion with the rest of the vampire clan, Skye attempts to maintain a normal routine. With the vampire army, The Faithful, attempting unsuccessfully to capture Amun, her nightmares take her down a twisted spiral of entrapment and terror, taking its toll on her daily life. Haunted and hunted by the psychotic and mind-twisting Amun, Skye goes through dark and violent changes, revealing a side of herself she didn't know existed and ultimately leading to a shocking conclusion. With a climax that will leave you breathless and wanting more, don't miss the third chapter in the life of Skye Morrison.

**Excerpt**
“Stop,” I whispered as the tears finally began to spill down my face. “I can’t bear to hear anymore.” My heart constricted with the pain his words brought. “How can you do this to me? How can you when you know I’m with Jameson.”

I roughly wiped the tears from my cheeks, stood up, and stormed over to him. “What am I supposed to do with this, Archer? Huh? Leave your brother and jump into your bed? What about him? What about his feelings? How can you do this to me? Why couldn’t you have just left it alone? Why did you have to tell me?”

“You deserve to know how I feel,” he growled. “You were mine before you were his.”

“No,” I shook my head sadly. “I wasn’t.”

“Why couldn’t you have just talked to me, Skye?” Archer asked, his voice full of pain. “Why didn’t you give me an opportunity to explain the kiss you saw between Aoife and me before you ran into my brother’s arms?”

“I thought I knew what I saw,” I whispered, losing my fight.

“You knew nothing,” he whispered, matching my tone, as he closed the gap between us and pulled me into his arms. He bent down and nuzzled my hair, taking a deep breath in.

I wrapped my arms around him and clung to him tightly. I buried my face in his chest and succumbed to my waterworks. “I knew nothing,” I finally admitted tearfully.

He held me for a long time, neither of us saying anything. I think we were both just content to be in each other’s arms. We had been denying ourselves for the longest time. Holding him felt like coming home; like a cool drink of water after a long week in the desert.

“I’m so sorry, Archer,” I sniffed. “I’m sorry I hurt you.”

“I’m sorry, too,” he mumbled into my hair as he placed light kisses about the top of my head. “I don’t know what I’m supposed to do now. The girl I love is sleeping with my brother.”



Legacy of Blood (Book 4) 
Synopsis

"Skye Morrison begged for death. Fortunately, someone didn't listen.
Skye awakens to discover she has been irrevocably changed and the unprecedented circumstances of her rebirth have now created a new threat to her very existence. Sired by both the monster Amun and the vampire Archer Rhys, Skye must prove to the army of An Dilis (The Faithful) whose essence is most dominant within her and that she is not a danger to them or society. The Faithful soon discover that she is unlike any vampire ever created before as she struggles to adjust to her new life and the changes that come with it.

Her recent brush with death has made Skye realize that life is precious and she wastes no time telling the one she loves how she feels about him.

But, Amun finds out that someone interfered with Skye's transformation and the intrusion makes him livid. He gives Skye 7 days to come to him or he threatens to begin killing the ones she loves most.

Will Skye be able to survive long enough to enjoy her new life now that Amun is hunting her and everyone she loves?
**Excerpt**
As soon as my head hit my pillow, and I fully relaxed, my eyes began to grow heavy. All of the excitement I had been through today had taken its toll on me mentally. I desperately needed to sleep and recharge. Before I knew it, I was out cold.

Images flashed behind my eyes, interrupting hours of deep, sound sleep as I softly heard someone whispering my name. Something was pulling at my psyche, demanding entrance, and I finally gave in to the request.

Amun was standing by large body of water with his back to me. As soon as I took a step toward him, he whirled around looking surprised but relieved.

“What took you so long?” he demanded, his black eyes taking on anger. “I’ve been reaching out to you all day. I could feel you but I didn’t have access to you…I couldn’t access your mind. Something is interfering. HOW are you keeping me out?”

“Ha!” I laughed and sneered at the small victory. “You mean to tell me you can’t just come into my dreams whenever you want to?”

He flashed to me and grabbed me by my throat. “You drank their blood?!” he raged in my face as he glared back and forth between my now colorless eyes. “But you are mine!”

“I am no one’s!” I yelled back as I ripped his hand from my neck and pushed him away from me; the action utterly shocking Amun. “No one owns me! No one will EVER own me!”

“A piece of my very soul is inside of you,” he growled, quickly recovering. “You are mine and you will do as I say. You will come to me this night! I DEMAND IT!”

I put my hands on my hips and smirked at him. “Demand away, Amun. I don’t know what you’re expecting, but I’m not going to just come crawling to whatever hole you’re off hiding in. You have no control over me. Get used to it!”

“Oh, I have plenty of control over you,” he sneered evilly as he took another step toward me. “All those disgusting feelings of love and desire you felt for that Day Walker…Archer? I put them there. I made you dream of him, want him, make love to him… I made you want to stay with him when you were so set on leaving. I couldn’t very well allow you to leave and ruin all my plans! But in the end, you betrayed me, Damu. There will be a heavy price to pay for that. You were supposed to stay, complete your change and then kill him and all his children. Instead you drink his blood and pollute yourself?! You could have been something great, something beautifully fierce and exquisitely savage, but now you are just another common, pathetic Day Walker!”

I felt my eyes flicker black as anger consumed me. “I’m not your fucking toy, Amun! If you think you can force me to feel things and do things for you, you have another thing coming. I’m going to kill you for what you’ve done to me! As God is my witness, you will DIE by MY hand!”

Amun chuckled as he looked me up and down and then tsked. “Oh, my sweet Nisiqtu…you are still so headstrong. I believe I was wrong about you. You carry my mark in your eyes. We are not so different after all, you and I. You may be a Day Walker now, but the potential for greatness is still there. The possibilities are endless now. There is so much we can do to them now that you are one of them. They will never suspect-”

“Fuck you!” I spat as I turned and walked away. I didn’t have to listen to his bullshit. He may have pulled me into this dream but, come hell or high water, I was going to walk out of it.

“You have one week to come to me, Skye,” Amun yelled at my back. “If you do not obey me, I will start killing your friends and family one by one and I’ll start with that fiery girl who shares your home. I believe I’ll sew her colorful skin into a new hat.”

I whirled around, my eyes wide and fearful. “You lay one finger on her and I’ll-”

“Silence!” Amun roared angrily, his voice echoing loudly all around me. “Seven days, Skye. And you had better be wearing the presents I left for you when you come to me.”



 Review


Reel me in, I'm hooked! I'm going all out here and straight up giving max dandies to J.L for an AMAZING series thus far.

Blood of the Son had me interested. Skye's story and her transition in life from recent college grad to newly-introduced to the lives of Vampires in Austin, TX set the tone for a series that can be long lived. Sins of the Father drew me in even further into Skye's world and the connections she has, both established and new. The Original Sin left me hooked and drooling for more. The characters keep getting more interesting, the drama escalates, and the sexual tension is nearly unbearable! Legacy of Blood had me flinching, groaning, cheering and crying.

J.L has managed to create a Vampire series that can be as creatively deep and rich as the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series. The lore of the Vampires in the Skye Morrison series is fresh and steeped in holy tradition. The descriptions used in the books are vivid and fluid. J.L has created a cast of characters that are unique and perfectly honed. Skye is your perfectly flawed leading lady! The themes of family, friendship, growing up, love, good vs evil, stereotype vs realism, and strength of character play in each book. The use of music throughout the series is very well done. Not only does J.L mention music often, she gives you a mental soundtrack to hum along to while you read.

This reviewer was blown away by the fresh, vivid, sexy, alluring, entertaining, and deep story laid on paper to date. Keeping length of review in mind, I can only close by saying this is a MUST READ if you love the paranormal. You get a fresh concept into the world of Vampires, Werewolves, and more as well as some good erotic scenes. J.L has laid a very solid foundation for a series that can go on for many, many more books. I'm thirsty for more!!! Thank you SO MUCH for putting this world into print.

P.S. I ♥ Trey to pieces!!!!


About the Author
J. L. McCoy resides in the beautifully weird city of Austin, Texas with her opinionated Pekiweenie Isabel and handsome husband Kenny. She has always been a passionate reader and enjoys watching movies, traveling, listening to heavy metal/classic rock/80s music, getting mani/pedis with her girls, and singing karaoke. She loves body art and is hopelessly addicted to Sonic’s ice and Route 44 un-sweet raspberry iced tea.



If you’d like more information about her or her upcoming books, please visit her at the following links:

Author Links
Blog
Website
Facebook
My Store
(I sell signed copies of my books in my store!)

Book Blast ~ Have No Shame by Melissa Foster


Book Synopsis 

The racially-charged prejudice of the deep South forces eighteen-year-old Alison Tillman to confront societal norms—and her own beliefs—when she discovers the body of a hate crime victim, and the specter of forbidden love turns her safe, comfortable world upside down.

Alison has called Forrest Town, Arkansas home for the past eighteen years. Her mother’s Blue Bonnet meetings, her father toiling night and day on the family farm, and the division of life between the whites and the blacks are all Alison knows. The winter of 1967, just a few months before marrying her high school sweetheart, Alison finds the body of a black man floating in the river, and she begins to view her existence with new perspective. The oppression and hate of the south, the ugliness she once was able to avert her eyes from, now demands her attention.

When a secretive friendship with a young black man takes an unexpected romantic turn, Alison is forced to choose between her predetermined future, and the dangerous path that her heart yearns for.

HAVE NO SHAME is an emotionally compelling coming of age novel featuring a young woman who cannot reconcile the life she wants with the one she’s been brought up to live.Have No Shame will resonate with anyone who has ever fallen in love, and those who have been forced to choose between what they know in their hearts to be true, and what others would like them to believe.


PRAISE FOR HAVE NO SHAME

“A gripping and poignant novel dealing with a subject once taboo in American society.” Hagerstown Magazine

“Have No Shame is a powerful testimony to love and the progressive, logical evolution of social consciousness, with an outcome that readers will find engrossing, unexpected, and ultimately eye-opening.” Midwest Book Review

“A historical novel of love and its triumph, told with a unique and compelling voice.” Bestselling Author Kathleen Shoop

“Have No Shame is a delightful eye opener and a rather poignant book that everyone everywhere should put on their must-read list.” Readers’ Favorite

“A dynamic and heartwarming tale of young love, giving testament to those who struggled so we can live in an integrated society.” Author Rachelle Ayala

“…a stunningly impactful read.” Rabid Reader Reviews

“A book that brings the evilness of racial bigotry to light, through the eyes of one awakening to its reality.” Cindy Smith, avid reader

“[HAVE NO SHAME] Perfectly catches the South at the dawning of the Civil Rights Movement. Melissa Foster takes us on an adventure that twists and turns unpredictably to a tense climax that renders this novel a true page-turner. This is undoubtedly the best novel I have read in a long time.” Roderick Craig Low, Author of ‘Promises of Love and Good Behaviour’

“This book is not just a story; it’s an experience.” Author G.E. Johnson 

 

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION
1 Winner will receive a gift bag full of goodies, including:
-Snacks
- Signed copy of CHASING AMANDA
- Signed copy of COME BACK TO ME
- Signed Copy of MEGAN’S WAY
- 1 Pink Journal
Shipping in US Only, No PO Boxes. Must be 13+ To Enter 

 ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Melissa Foster is the award-winning author of four International bestselling novels. Her books have been recommended by USA Today’s book blog, Hagerstown Magazine, The Patriot, and several other print venues. She is the founder of the Women’s Nest, a social and support community for women, the World Literary CafĂ©. When she’s not writing, Melissa helps authors navigate the publishing industry through her author training programs on Fostering Success. Melissa is also a community builder for the Alliance for Independent Authors. She has been published in Calgary’s Child Magazine, the Huffington Post, and Women Business Owners magazine.

Melissa hosts an annual Aspiring Authors contest for children and has painted and donated several murals to The Hospital for Sick Children in Washington, DC. Melissa lives in Maryland with her family.

Visit Melissa on The Women’s Nest, Fostering Success, or World Lit Cafe. Melissa enjoys discussing her books with book clubs and reader groups, and welcomes an invitation to your event.

Book Links

Find Melissa Foster

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal / Just One Cup by Cassandra Giovanni



Title- Just One Cup
By-Cassandra Giovanni
Genre-New Adult
Publication Date-June 20, 2013


Blurb

Emma Walker was a writer who'd lost herself to someone else's anger--who had given up on ever feeling like herself again.

Evan Levesque was a rock-god--the one all the woman wanted, but he'd never gotten used to the loneliness between the stage and real life.


With just one cup of coffee they'll begin a journey of self-discovery at each others sides, but can Emma handle Evan's fame while dealing with her own demons? Emma's checkered personal past, a bad relationship that haunts the edges of her memories, threatens to make everything implode on them when Evan takes matters into his own hands.Sticks and stones may break my bones, but your words...they'll destroy my soul--Can Emma handle being put back together and facing who she's become because of it?

About the Author

Cassandra doesn't remember a time when she wasn't writing. In fact, the first time she was published was when she was seven years old and won a contest to be published in an American Girl Doll novel. Since than Cassandra has written more novels than she can count and put just as many in the circular bin. Her personal goal with her writing is to show the reader the character's stories through their dialogue and actions instead of just telling the reader what is happening. In 2012 she became a published Young Adult author, releasing In Between Seasons (The Fall, #1) and Walking in the Shadows. In 2013 she branched out by using her artistic illustrating talents to publish her first Children's novel, The Adventures of Skippy Von Flippy: Tales of Friendship (Skippy Tales, #1). Cassandra will also release her first New Adult novel, Just One Cup, in the Spring of 2013.

Cassandra is a freelance professional photographer known for her automotive, nature and architectural shots. She is the owner of Gio Design Studios, a photography and publication marketing company that designs covers and marketing materials for authors utilizing the company's photography. She is currently studying to receive her associates degree in Marketing. Cassandra is happily married to the man of her dreams and they live in the rolling hills of New England with the other loves of her life their dogs, Bubski and Kanga.

Author Links:

Book Link:

Cover Reveal / Again by Brandy Jeffus



Again by Brandy Jeffus
Release Date: May 15th, 2013

Blurb:

From recess buddies to high school sweethearts, Eli Stone and Bonnie Jinks were constants in each other’s lives. Although young, their relationship had withstood the test of many teenage tribulations. Marriage and a happy ever after were in their future plans.


One alcohol fueled mistake rips them apart. Bonnie ends up on the road with her new boyfriend while Eli joins the military. It seems as if their lives would never intersect again.

A near fatal accident brings them together and their chemistry is undeniable. But will the pain of the past keep them apart? Can they make their love work again?

Author Bio:

Brandy Jeffus has been writing stories since an early age. She would dictate them to her mom who would type them out on a typewriter.

She is a mother to two precious children and lives in North Texas, but she’ll always consider herself an East Texan, hailing from the Rose Capitol of the World, Tyler.

Author Link:

Monday, April 29, 2013

Book Blitz / Of Silver and Beasts by Trish Wolfe






***Excerpt***
“What’s your rank, baby blue eyes?” the guy asks, pushing off his cot and stalking toward the prince. Everything in me screams to act, but I don’t want to declare alliances this early on. Not without understanding the dynamic of placements and bonds already formed among these people. But I’ll not let this hulk of a man harm the prince. I brace my heel against the wall, ready to push off and lunge. Prince Caben rises to his feet, slowly turning to face him. He straightens his spine, squaring his shoulders. “I don’t have one. And my name is Payne. Not ‘baby blue eyes’, meathead.” Big guy laughs, his husky voice bounces off the rock walls. “I’m Crew”—he beats his chest hard once, like a barbarian—“and I’ve won three fights. I’ll win the next two and be the one awarded the freedom ring.” He leans down toward Prince Caben, leveling their faces. “So don’t even think about you or your princess over there walking out of here. I’m ranked as a Colossal. The strongest Colossal in Bax’s league.” Princess? I nearly scoff. Then I realize what the problem with Crew is: he feels threatened by Prince Caben. That revelation almost makes me laugh out right. What does a big stack of muscles like Crew have to fear from the prince? The other prisons slowly circle around the stand-off in the center of the cell. Tension thickens the musty air. It coils around my spine, tightening my muscles. If I allow the fight to continue without interruption, will the guards stop it? They’d want their fighters in pristine shape, wouldn’t they? Prince Caben doesn’t back away from Crew. Instead, he moves into his space. I roll my eyes. Stupid, conceited man. “Freedom ring?” the prince questions. “As in, there’s a chance to leave?” He rubs his chin, and I notice the dark shadow of facial hair that has darkened his features overnight. “Is there a season that has to be won, or can someone gain five wins during their entire imprisonment?” Crew’s eyebrows pinch together. He’s clearly despondent that he hasn’t succeeded in intimidating the prince. “We’re in a season right now, you weakling. If you don’t win—you’re dead. Which by the looks of you, will happen in your first match.” Prince Caben nods, as if he’s simply piecing together a jigsaw puzzle and not being told of his demise. “What is the cuff for?” He points to the iron clamp around Crew’s wrist. “It’s our biometric monitor.” Crew shoves the cuff up close to the prince’s face. “See those three blue lights? Those are my wins. When the fifth lights up, I’m outta’ here.” “Has anyone ever won the freedom ring before?” Prince Caben asks. Crew’s massive arms tremble. “No,” he grinds out. “But I will.” He cocks his cuffed hand back, then sends a blow to Prince Caben’s chin. Hell. I’m up and racing across the cell before the prince hits the ground. Crew spots me from his peripheral. He turns and swipes the air. I duck, roll, and come up behind him. I jump on the cot and leap onto his back. “You squirrely little ...” he mumbles, trying to reach over his shoulders to get a hold on me. Tightening my arms around his thick neck, I squeeze. He gasps for air, and rams my back into the wall. I wheeze as the air whooshes from my lungs, pain splintering through my already bruised chest. But I hold tight, bearing down harder, and cut off his supply of oxygen. Finally, I feel Crew weaken beneath my hold. He drops to his knees, and I only release him once I’m sure he’s knocked out. Stepping around the now limp Crew, I glance at all the wide eyes studying me, and meet the prince’s. Fury ignites his stormy blue irises. He picks himself off the floor and heads toward one of the side chambers, throwing the tattered material aside as he stalks inside. I follow after him. When I step inside the tiny, dank room, my eyes trail Prince Caben as he paces. He reaches each side of the small chamber with three quick strides. Back and forth. On his third round, I open my mouth and get out a single syllable before he holds up a hand, halting me. He drives his hand through his dark hair. “Thank you for making me look like a spineless jerk.” He shakes his head and faces me. Taken aback, I say, “This is my duty to protect—” “No. In your country it was your duty to guard me. In my world and here”—he opens his arms wide—“a man fights his own battles. He does not depend on a woman to fight them for him. You just disgraced me.” Fire simmers in my core. “I’m still assigned as your protector no matter what realm we inhabit, Your High—” I stop myself before addressing him by title out of habit. “Your pride is polluting your reasoning.” He laughs. “Yes, well. Thanks to your show out there, I no longer have my pride to worry about.”


Buy Of Silver and Beasts for only $2.99: 
 photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg  photo 111AD205-AA04-4F9E-A0F4-C1264C4E9F30-1855-000001A1E8CEB6D7_zps9b730b94.jpg 

***GIVEAWAY***
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz organized by:

Tour Stop / Daughters of the Sea Trilogy by Kristen Day


Excerpt ~ Awaken
Daughters of the Sea Series Book #2

Directly in front of us was the quintessential haunted house of childhood nightmares and horror movies, positioned on a decrepit acre of dead leaves. The ragged branches of a lone live oak tree had been stripped of its foliage, which now lay below. No other trees on the island had begun to lose their leaves yet, and the stark contrast chilled me to the bone. Once you were able to move past the layer of brown leaves and the overgrown stone path that used to be a driveway, the main attraction took your breath away.

The Victorian style manor was extremely out of place on an island of beach homes. Its majestic wraparound porch had been warped by the destructive forces of nature, but it still looked to be intact. Ruthless vines of ivy were devouring the entire house inch by inch, and most of the light gray paint had been peeled back from the exterior from years of relentless salt, wind and sand.

Several dormer windows were perched on the third floor overlooking the dreary landscape. The suffocating darkness and mass of vines drenched the house in mystery; hiding its secrets from the world. It looked…patient. As if waiting for something. Or someone. I felt a gentle push from behind.

“Go ahead Stasia, you go first,” Carmen urged.

“The only way I’m going in that house is if every person out here goes in with me.” I stared at the drab, wooden front door that probably hadn’t been opened in eighty years, “And even then you might have to drag me inside.”

“What’s the big deal? It’s just a house. Just because an entire family was gutted inside doesn’t mean it’s haunted,” Ricker rolled his eyes.

“What are you waiting for, then?” Carmen raised an eyebrow at him and mocked him, “I mean since it’s not a big deal and all.”

Sensing a shifting movement on the road, I glanced down and followed a sheet of sand marching from the side of the road to gather at Phoebe’s feet. I met her gaze and smiled sympathetically. I knew from my own sand experience how comforting it could be.

“Yeah, man,” Ian stared at the house as if it could come alive at any moment, “That’s all you.”

“Ya’ll are pathetic.” Ricker shook his head and began to walk toward the house. Shaking out his arms and tilting his head back and forth like a boxer readying for a fight, he strode up the front steps with confidence, turned the knob and disappeared into the house. We held our breath as we waited for him to reappear.

“See?!” He popped back into the doorway with a triumphant smile shining on his face. “Ya’ll were getting all bent out of shape for no-“ Without warning, he was yanked from behind by an unknown force; leaving us with only silence and a dark empty doorway. Carmen started running first. We all followed and made it to the open door at the same time. Without hesitation, we crossed the threshold and went into the dark house.

“Ricker!” Carmen screamed with obvious desperation and fear. Any apprehension I had about the house was wiped clean the second Ricker was attacked. Now adrenaline and determination were my only driving forces. The interior of the house melted together in a cacophony of dark shapes and shadowed doorways. The dust that had settled across its depths was at least three inches thick and quickly collecting in our lungs. I grounded my feet, centered my thoughts and concentrated on the open front door. All I had to do was think about a large gust of air circulating through the house and it came to fruition. I closed my eyes, focusing on the air and picturing it swirling through each room, over the walls, and around the corners; hoping to clear the dust.

“Remind me never to piss Stasia off,” Ian whispered and I heard Phoebe snicker.

As I opened my eyes, the wind receded. What it left was a dreary (although dirt-free) vacant shell of a house void of any color. The darkness of night had erased all ability to distinguish one room from the next as we searched for Ricker. We all had the same idea of turning on our cell phones to use as flashlights; careful not to step on any old, rickety boards that could end up hurtling us into oblivion.

“Ricker!” Carmen yelled again; panic-stricken. A light scraping sound from the corner brought our attention back to what I assumed was the library. We all whirled around gasping, as a figure stepped out from behind a curtain.

“Were you worried about me?” A crooked smile washed over his features.

“Ricker!” Never has one word held so many emotions. Relief, anger, happiness, and frustration were heavy in those two syllables. “What the hell are you doing!?”

“I figured it was the best way to get ya’ll in the house,” he said sheepishly. Tears rolled down Carmen’s cheeks as she walked up to Ricker and slapped him across the face.

“Scare me like that again and I’ll rip you apart piece by piece.”

“That’s my girl,” he murmured adoringly with a grin before his eyes dropped to the floor. “I’m sorry Carm, I didn’t mean to scare you.” She stepped even closer and the second slap I was expecting was replaced by a hug.

“It’s a good thing you showed yourself. Stasia was conjuring up the elements to hunt you down,” Liam said to him with a smirk.

Daughters of the Sea Trilogy  
Review

Forsaken (Daughters of the Sea Trilogy #1)
WOW! I cannot tell you how much I love this book! A pleasant surprise. Kristen Day's descriptions of the world she created are truly magical. I feel like I have been transported to the ocean and can see the sea turtles gathered before my eyes. I want to reach out and touch them. I have to say that is one of my favorite parts of the book.

Hannah has been having strange and disturbing dreams and visions. A dark mystery guy with piercing blue eyes has haunted her for most of her life. Unfortunately her adoptive family doesn't seem to handle her odd behavior very well and decide to send her to a school that deals with kids that have issues like her. The Lorelei House does deal with kids who are different, but not the way Hannah expects. This is were she finally finds a place she belongs and gets the answers she has been seeking.

Now on to FINN. Dark, mysterious, handsome and darn irresistable. I could not get enough of him. The perfect leading male character! His abilities fit his character perfectly. I can not get enough of him.

The ending is killing me. What a cliffhanger! Thank goodness I am going to start book 2 right away. Love this book!

Awaken (Daughters of the Sea Trilogy #2)
You have got to be kidding me! My heart can't take much more of this! WOW!! It is taking all I have not to throw my kindle across the room! Kristen Day has done it again with Awaken book 2 in the Daughters of the Sea Series. I honestly can't get enough of this mesmerizing world she has created.

In Awaken Stasia has to go to the Underworld to complete her transformation in becoming an immortal and Goddess. Finn tries to prepare her for this daunting task, along with her fabulous roommates. This I was prepared for, but I was not prepared for Nadia! She is pure evil and I absolutely dispise her. I also was not expecting the heartbreak I felt in Awaken. I found myself fighting back tears when Finn's secret is revealed.

I absolutely LOVE Awaken and I am starting Chosen #3 right away! I can't express how much I am enjoying this series. If you haven't read it, what on earth are you waiting for?

Chosen (Daughters of the Sea Trilogy #3)
I am so full of emotions right now. I have fallen in love with The Daughter of the Sea Series! Chosen is probably my favorite of the series.

I thoroughly enjoy watching Stasha and Finn's relationship blossom even as they continually have to endure pain and suffering from the evil Nadia. I want to scratch her eyes out and choke her with sea weed. Pure evil is all she is about, but she isn't the only one. I am still reeling from the emotional ups, downs and surprises Kristen has so expertly placed in Chosen. Wow!

I did not want this trilogy/series to end! I am anxious to see where Hearken Book 4 will lead me.


About The Author
I am a southern belle at heart with a crazy streak that desperately tries to escape at every opportunity. I love all things nostalgic, rustic, and quirky. I've been told I see the world through rose-colored glasses, but I prefer to think of them as kaleidoscope glasses - swirling and morphing reality into something I can digest (who hasn't pretended those pasty lima beans were really kiwi strawberry jelly beans?).

I am the author of the DAUGHTERS OF THE SEA trilogy, which includes FORSAKEN, AWAKEN, and CHOSEN (Winter 2012). I love all books, but really enjoy writing young adult, paranormal romances. I've loved to write for as long as I can remember. My first published work was my poem RED in second grade (you guessed it - it was a poem about the color red - life altering, I know) that won me 5 gold stars and a spot in my elementary school's poetry book. That's when my addiction to the written word officially began. I was the only kid in fifth grade that actually enjoyed diagramming sentences. Go ahead and laugh – it’s okay.

When I'm not writing I'm making jewelry, painting, drinking sweet tea, watching the discovery channel, or going on random adventures in the mountains of North Carolina with my amazing husband. I graduated from Appalachian State University and dream of becoming a full time novelist.

Author Links

Giveaway Info
Author is giving away:
A Finn necklace (picture available)
assorted swag made by Cassie’s Crafty Creations
an ebook set of the entire trilogy signed paperback set of the entire trilogy






a Rafflecopter giveaway


Sunday, April 28, 2013

Blog Tour / Take Me by T.A. Grey



Title: Take Me 
Author: T.A. Grey 
Series: The Untouchables (# 1) 
Genre: Paranormal Erotic (high heat level with graphic language)
Publisher: Self Published 
Release Date: Feb 28 2013 
Edition/Formats Available In: E~Book


Blurb/Synopsis: 

She makes his blood burn 

Dominic Blackmoore meets the woman who captures his mind and body with a look and he’s instantly taken with her. When he was ordered to take another mate quickly after separating from his ex, he loathed the idea. However, after catching sight of his bruid he quickly changes his mind. He finds her utterly captivating, sensually erotic, and yearns to learn everything about her. 


But she’s not his bruid 

The woman he’s mistaken as his bruid is none other than the event planner, Felicity Shaw, for his mating ceremony. Now Dominic will do everything it takes, even lie to the woman he craves, to keep her at his side. He needs to mate with his bruid in order to win his political campaign but he finds himself falling in love with Felicity Shaw. In the end he must choose between work or love. He may make the right decision, but is it too late to save his lies from hurting Felicity? 


He takes her breath away 

Felicity Shaw wants more in life. She’ll even lie to get it, which is exactly how she lands a job with the illustrious Blackmoore family. However, it’s the head of the vampire household, Dominic Blackmoore, that has her heart racing and breath catching. The man consumes her unlike anyone ever has before. She can’t resist him though she tries. As she’s forced to work with Dominic she tries to keep away from him but he doesn’t make things easy. 

She may want him with a passion she’s never experienced before, but she will not be with him when he’s mating to another woman. It’s either her or no one. But one terrible lies seals their fates together in ways neither of them imagined, threatening their love and the very fabric of their relationship.


Excerpt 

The room started to spin. Suddenly she was flung upright and tall, dark, and gorgeous stood in her face with a scowl that made him more attractive. 

“That’s not fair,” she said suddenly. 

Shaking his head, he kept a hold on her arms to keep her steady. “What’s not fair?” 

“That even when you frown you look sexy.” So addled was she that she didn’t see his eyes darken; or if she did, she was busy ignoring it to embrace the foggy mind the drink gave her. 

“What did you say?” he asked in a hoarse growl that went straight to her sex. 

Felicity shivered and she didn’t know which one of them moved but one of them moved closer to the other. She wished he’d wrap his arms around her and just hold her so she’d know what it’d feel like. Then she’d be on her way and she could go back to her poor life and remember the one time a man like Dominic Blackmoore looked at her like he’d wanted her more than anything. 

She looked up into his dark eyes. “I said... I don’t remember what I said,” she whispered softly, honestly. 

Somehow they were even closer. His jacket brushed her nipples like a caress. 

“This is too soon,” he said just as softly. His voice like a warning...one he wasn’t going to heed. 

“What’s too soon?” 

Had his head just dipped in closer? 

Her heart thumped wildly in her chest and her pulse skyrocketed as desire filled her veins like hot syrup. 

One hand, quite warm she noted, squeezed her arm then slid around to her back. Her heart jumped at the caress. 

Her head tilted back as she looked up at him. His hand pressed between her shoulder blades and yes, she wasn’t mistaken, he was nudging her forward. 

She went willingly, happily. One aroused woman needing him to put out the fire inside her. 

“What’s too soon?” she repeated. 

His eyes traced over her face then fell to her mouth. With that one hungry look she moaned. Actually moaned aloud. 

A hot blush burned her cheeks. 

This was crazy. 

Before they’d just been subtly flirting, barely touching but now she’d crossed the line—she made a noise. There was no masking that as something else or playing it off. She’d done the unthinkable. 

All of her worries were quickly washed away as his eyes darkened with hunger, his body pressed into hers, and then he spoke right against her lips. “It’s too soon to touch you.” 

Her voice wavered. “Oh. Why?” 

His lips stroked across hers in a barely-there touch that left her leaning towards him for more. 

“Because you tempt me to go much further than I should, sweets.” 

Her eyelids drifted closed at his hypnotic, deep voice. He’d called her sweets. That too wasn’t something you could take back and pretend didn’t happen. She’d actually moaned and he actually thought she was sweet. Her heart melted. 

Holy hell, she wasn’t going to stand here wanting for any longer. Devil Felicity reared her sultry head. 

Slowly, she pressed her hands over that expensive suit jacket then ran her hands up. Her eyes followed the movements but paused to gauge his reaction. 

He looked hungry, tightly in control, but wary at the same time. Hunger for her but wary of “touching her too soon.” Well, she didn’t have a problem with this “too soon” thing. She might have said so if she could voice something elegant at the moment. Instead she needed her mouth for something else. 

Her arms finished their journey and wrapped around his neck. She touched his hair, had to know if it felt as soft as it looked. Moving up his neck, she fisted his dark brown locks and bit her bottom lip. 

“Perfect,” she whispered. Just enough give to cling to. 

I’m not getting this job but who the hell cares, she thought wildly. 

His eyes fluttered shut and his breathing hitched, and then they opened and pierced her on the spot. What happened next actually caught her by surprise. 

In a lightning fast move, his arm curled hard around her crushing her into him until they were plastered together, then his hand slid into her hair, his fist wrapping around it twice and his mouth slammed down to hers. 

Breath caught. Pleasure shot straight between her legs. 

“You’ll make a perfect bruid.” 

Felicity blinked slowly as the sensual fog lifted. 

What? 

She couldn’t have heard what she thought she just heard. It had to be the fog surrounding her, combined with the potent brew he’d given her. Did he just say bruid as in a bride as in the woman a male vampire married to for life? 

“That’s an odd thing to say,” she said with an uneasy laugh, the fog receding. 

He pulled back, that deep frown back in place as his brows pulled low. “Not really, considering.” 

Felicity pulled back too. “Considering what?” 

One of his dark brows flew up. “That we’re to be mated.” 

“Say what?” she said in a sharp voice. 

Before he had a chance to answer, the door downstairs flung open and in walked an older woman who looked no less stunning in her age. She wore a fine cream-colored dress with a matching jacket that had one button holding it closed. Felicity recognized Mrs. Blackmoore in an instant. 

“Dominic, are you in here?” 

Dom shot Felicity a scary look as if his mother’s intrusion seriously pissed him off. He called out, “What is it?” 

His mother turned around and gazed up. Felicity cursed and tried to duck out of his arms but he only tightened his grip, keeping her locked snuggly against him. 

At the sight of them together, his mother’s jaw dropped open and a deep flush colored her face. “Who is that!” 

“My bruid Julianna Greenwich, who do you think? Now get out of here, mother.” 

Felicity and Mrs. Blackmoore had about the same response—they both froze in place. Only his mother recovered much, much faster from her shock. 

“That is not your bruid Julianna Greenwich. Julianna is waiting in the study for you, where she’s been waiting for nearly an hour!” 

Suddenly Felicity found herself the focus of two intense eyes, both russet with a touch of gold in the center. 

The touch on her arm became cruel. “And just who are you?” he asked and for the first time she heard him angry, and it sent a wave of fear down her spine. 

She licked her lips. “My name is Felicity Shaw. I was invited here for a job interview.” 

Even though she barely spoke above a whisper, his mother down below heard every word. “A job interview. That’s the event planner for the mating ceremony, Dominic! You are messing with the help,” she said. 

Dominic let her go and stepped away. It was as if an Arctic chill blasted over her at his cold gaze. All the passion that had been between them froze as surely as water in a freezer. Cold touched her where his heat had been and an even colder feeling settled in her chest like a hard knot making it hard to breathe. 

“Ms. Shaw if you’ll come down here we’ll get this all straightened away, and Dominic might you see to your actual bruid. She’s waiting in the study.” 

Dominic’s gaze stayed locked with hers. God, he looked fucking pissed. Felicity rather understood that. She had just been ready to get naked with him on the expensive rug and he was supposed to be mated with someone else? And he’d thought she was the woman? She had too many questions but couldn’t ask any of them. One thing was for sure, disappointment crushed her like an anvil sitting on her chest. 

Dom stepped up close but not touching. “You did this as a game. To play with me, to try a hand at a Blackmoore, for blackmail? Just what did you get out of it?” 

He spoke to her as if he hated her not in that warm way he had before. She flinched but held his gaze. “It wasn’t a game. I came here for a job interview.” 

“And you thought this,” he thrust his hand out to encompass the bar, her drink, where they’d just kissed so passionately, “was how I conduct an interview?” 

Shame washed over her, burning her face red. “Well, no, I mean, I don’t know. How was I supposed to know you had a bruid waiting in the other room? Maybe you should have asked me for my name then! I assumed you knew who I was. This isn’t entirely my fault.” 

The corner of his mouth twitched and not with a smile. “I don’t want to see you again. Do you understand me? I don’t ever want to see your face in my home.” 


Guest Post

A Day in the Life of Being an Author. 

I have two different kinds of days: chaotic and boring. I don’t really know which one I prefer because they both have their ups and downs. Around the time of a book release my days are crazy. I really need an assistant but since I don’t have one that means I do everything myself. That means I’m running and updating my website, blog, newsletter, Facebook, Twitter, promos, and advertising. I’m formatting my book and editing all while trying to get the word out about my latest release.


I make a lot of mistakes. I try not to, don’t get me wrong, but I make mistakes. Most recently I was printing out envelopes to mail swag to my street team. I didn’t realize until 20 envelopes in that I was printing them upside down. *sigh* Now I’ve wasted ink, time, and money. This is my life as an author. 

Every author has their own patterns and routines for writing. Mine is that I write five days a week. I try to write to get my word count, though sometimes I’m over or under. My cats constantly play with me or try to which drives me nuts. It seems like every day that I sit down to start working one of my three cats needs in on the action.


This is my youngest (and skinniest) cat Phoebe interrupting my work. Typical.
When I’m actually able to work, I write. I don’t edit during the first draft. I use WriteWayPro software which has been a miracle for me. At the end of the work day when I’ve (hopefully) met my quota for the day then I might write a blog post, work on my newsletter, work on my website, or get on Facebook and hang out with my kick-ass fans. If I’m lucky I try to squeeze in a workout and shower before I go and make dinner. *whew*
That is the day in the life of T. A. Grey. I’m not out in the field diffusing bombs or savings lives, but I get to do all that in my books. I love my job!

Author Bio:

I love to write the kind of stories that will keep you up late at night and make your heart pound. It’s my goal in writing to make each new book better, more exciting, more action-packed, not only to test myself as a writer but to keep thrilling you. I’m always trying to push the boundaries with my imagination, and yours, to create something new and different. 

If you’re a fan of paranormal romance novels then you’ll love my Bellum Sisters Trilogy. This isn’t your typical romance story, so be prepared for a kick of heat and tons of action. The Bellum Sisters Trilogy has received excellent reviews from paranormal bloggers and two of the three books are Top Picks from Night Owl Reviews. 

Now, if you like shorter books with quite a bit of heat, humor, and action then I’d recommend the Kategan Alphas series. This erotic series features the sexy Kategan family and all the lucky men and women who get to meet them and complete their lives. 

Visit my website to learn more about me and my books at www.tagrey.com

Author Links:
Amazon
Blog
Facebook Author Page
Goodreads
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, April 27, 2013

Tour Stop / Residue by Laury Falter


Click Here to Follow the Tour
Kindle Edition ~ 300 pages
Published ~ April 13th 2012
ISBN13 ~ 9780985511067
Edition Language ~ English
Original Title ~ Residue
Series ~ Residue Series #1
 


Synopsis

When Jocelyn Weatherford is whisked away from a preparatory academy in upstate New York to live with her extended family in New Orleans, she is unprepared to encounter the dangers awaiting her. Yet even as she is thrust into an unfamiliar world of witches and voodoo magic, the greatest threat of all may be the boy she has fallen for.

While handsome and charming, he is also a Caldwell... a member of the family the Weatherford's have been feuding with for centuries. As their forbidden love grows it becomes the volatile spark that forever changes their world and everyone in it.


Review

I enjoyed Residue for all the things I love to see in a good book, paranormal, young adult, amazing characters, and mystery.  This book lured me in from the beginning, learning about Jocelyn and her background as a witch.  I fell into her shoes and world easily.

The dangers that await Jocelyn Weatherford as she falls for a handsome Caldwell is unspeakable.  The two families have been feuding for centuries and to cross that line is quite dangerous.  Jocelyn was quite a character, strong and with spunk to her natural character.  Jameson is a hottie with a protective side, especially when it comes to Jocelyn.

I was so wrapped up in the romance between the two that the family feud between families fell into the background.  Will the feud continue or will their love out stand the test of time and ages?  What lies ahead for Jocelyn and Jameson?  All I can say is... I can not wait to find out! 

I can see Laury's developing this series into so much more.  So glad that I do not have to wait to get my hands on Birthright and can continue with the sequel to this series soon.  I will also be picking up her Guardian Trilogy - I loved this book!  Would I recommend this book?  Yes!



Author Info
Laury Falter is the author of the bestselling Guardian Trilogy. She writes young adult paranormal romances and urban fantasy when she's not taking her stray dogs for a walk or enjoying a date night with her husband.

Laury has released two series, the Guardian Trilogy and the Residue Series (a spinoff of the Guardian Trilogy books), and is currently releasing her third series, the Apocalypse Chronicles.


Author Links

Book Links

~ Giveaway #1 ~
a Rafflecopter giveaway

~ Giveaway #2 ~
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Recent Giveaways

ShareThis